Beer a Day Blog

My opinion on a variety of beers.

Guinness Black Lager

I have developed a fondness for Guinness lately. Guinness has recently introduced a black lager. I wasn’t sure what to think of Guinness Black Lager, Guinness is staple of Ireland and they’ve had a long history with the signature beer. This beer has just arrived in Canada. I picked up a six pack on a recent trip to Chicago. Great city by the way. The first one I had was not sold, so of course I tried it again with an open mind. Black like a Guinness but pours more like a German Schwarzbier (black beer). Not really a typical lager taste no sweetness, and a very slight hint of caramel that you’ expect from Guinness. If you want a good black beer would suggest a Köstritzer instead. Its not bad just not great, worth a try though. 

6.5/10

guinnesslager

June 15, 2013 Posted by | Beer, Lager | Leave a comment