Beer a Day Blog

My opinion on a variety of beers.

Hofbräu Hefe Weizen

You can’t visit München (Munich) without a trip to the Hofbräuhaus Beer hall. It is probably the most famous Beer hall in Germany. I visited it years ago and my son visited it recently. I have had their Oktoberfest Bier and absolutely loved it. I have to admit I was excited at the prospect of trying another of their beers.  Well Hofbräu Hefe Weizen did not disappoint, while I find some of this style over spiced this one had a good blend, with a hint of orange. Cloudy in colour and very smooth, found this one delicious, glad I bought four. This is a good example of a spiced wheat beer, not as overwhelming as some of this style, especially the ones from Belgium. A perfect beer to watch the Champions League Final as Bayern München defeated German rival Borussia Dortmund, and those who follow me know I’m a fan of Bayern. Looks like they have the elusive triple locked up. Anyway give this or any others from Hofbräu a try.

9/10

hofbrauhefe

May 26, 2013 Posted by | Beer, Wheat Beer | 1 Comment