Beer a Day Blog

My opinion on a variety of beers.

Lug Tread

It’s been awhile. quite awhile actually since I reviewed a beer. So I am overdue. We all have those guilty pleasures, besides beer which I never feel guilty about. One of mine is reality TV shows. I recently watched Big Brother Canada and as a reward they received Lug Tread Lagered Ale.  The cast seemed to like it but could it be because they were on slop. Figured I’d have to give this one a try, comes in 4 packs of 600 ml bottles. Can’t complain about a bit of extra. Brewed by Canada’s Beau Brewery which is a small family run brewery. Not sure what a lagered ale was so here is a quote from their site “Lug•Tread is top fermented (like an ale) and then cold aged (like a lager) for a lengthy period. This gives our beer some light ale notes complemented by a lager-like crispness.” Well this family knows how to brew a pretty good beer. very German in style with that robust full-bodied taste you’d expect in a beer. Golden colour I found it pretty good , better than the average micro-brewery. And in case you are wondering what a lug tread is, it’s the tracks left in the mud by a tractor. So get out there, plow the fields and after enjoy a Lug Tread.

7.5/10

lugtread

May 4, 2013 Posted by | Ale, Beer, Lager | Leave a comment