Beer a Day Blog

My opinion on a variety of beers.

Chili Beer

We all need some spice in our lives, life would be so boring without it. Chili Beer sounded intriguing, however I was warned it would be spicy. A little background about this beer, it was born in Arizona, the brewer, ‘Crazy Ed Chillen’ (awesome name chillin’) tired of yuppies asking for lime decided to instead insert a hot serrano chili pepper, about two out of ten liked it. Sadly the brewery is now out of business, but the beer lives on in Tecate, Mexico. Now I don’t mind spicy food, but this one really through me for a loop. Spicy beer, and I mean heat not the usual spices you would expect. A first taste very typical of a Mexican beer, light not overwhelming, then it hits you like a ton of bricks.  This beer is hot, first time I needed something to refresh me from a beer, usually the beer is the refresher.  Not for the feint of heart for sure. It is spicier than Sofía Vergara. If you like it hot give it a go. They say “we don’t need no stinkin’ lime” , well I agree on that one, just not sure I’d have gone with a chili pepper. So if you are willing to experiment, give it a try.

6.5/10

June 24, 2012 - Posted by | Beer

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

