Beer a Day Blog

My opinion on a variety of beers.

Fraoch Heather Ale

On SNL, Mike Myers used to play a character that would say ‘if it’s not Scottish it’s crap’. With ‘Heather’ in the title not sure what I would be getting myself into, isn’t heather a plant? Well this beer from Scotland is pretty good, Mike Myers would be proud. Fraoch Heather Ale is almost thick in texture, like a strong beer if that makes sense, but without a strong beer taste. A good full, hearty ale with no bitter aftertaste. I have found some Scottish beers have been some of the best and worst I’ve tried. This one is part of a sample pack of Traditional Scottish Ales, off to a good start with this one, I would certainly try one again.

8/10

June 16, 2011 - Posted by | Beer

2 Comments »

  1. that is really very strange that you decided to try this beer… i bought the exact same beer 2 days later having never even heard of your website. i’m just about to sit down and try it out right now, but am unsure as to whether i should have it chilled, warm or cold. suggestions?

    Comment by scrimpty | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • I prefer my beers chilled. I guess it is all part of a personal preference. I bought this one as part of a sampler pack of Historic Beers of Scotland. Haven’t had a chance to try the others yet.

      Comment by kd59 | June 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

