Beer a Day Blog

My opinion on a variety of beers.

Tetley’s Smooth Ale

Not to be confused with Tetley’s tea, his one completely confused me, with each sip I wasn’t sure what to make of this one. Smoother than a babies bottom, England’s Tetley’s Smooth Ale certainly lives up to name. Dark in colour like a traditional English ale, but I kept wondering where is the taste, it was there, it wasn’t there, you could almost taste the flavour, but then again it tasted almost watery. A slight hint of bitterness in the aftertaste, it is almost as if someone took a decent tasting ale and added water. Probably one of those beers left for those 35 degree Celsius days (do I need to say celsius since every country in the world except two measure temperature in metric, but I will anyway).  I wouldn’t rush out and buy one, maybe stick to Tetley tea. And for those keeping track this is the 200th beer I’ve reviewed, and there has been some good, some bad and some ugly ones, but I don’t regret for a second trying them all, since variety is the spice of life, and beer the drink.

5/10


May 22, 2011 - Posted by | Beer

1 Comment »

  1. Fair enough review. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head – so smooth to be tasteless.

    Comment by bladdamasta | May 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

